Skip to content

All the Provence - French Riviera departements

Discover all the “départements” of Provence, French Riviera

Discover the departments of Provence and Côte d'Azur, whether by the sea, on the Côte d'Azur or in the authentic Provence of the interior.

Click on the department of your choice to find out all about it:

Campings de Provence par département.

Map of the PACA region

This map shows the location of the various departments in the PACA region: the departments bordering the Mediterranean (Var, Alpes Maritimes and Bouches du Rhône) and the departments in the magnificent hinterland (Vaucluse, Alpes de Hautes Provence and Hautes Alpes). The southern department of Drôme is not part of the PACA region, but is historically and culturally part of Provence, hence its presence on our map.

Which departments make up the PACA region?

There are 6 departments in the PACA region: Alpes de Haute Provence, Alpes Maritimes, Bouches du Rhône, Hautes Alpes, Var and Vaucluse. Drôme is part of Provence, but not of the PACA region. Corsica is not part of the Sud region either.

What are the major towns in the PACA region?

The major towns in the PACA region are listed below for each département:

  • Marseille and Aix en Provence in the Bouches du Rhône department

  • Toulon in the Var

  • Nice in the Alpes Maritimes

  • Digne and Manosque in Alpes de Haute Provence

  • Avignon and Orange in Vaucluse

  • and Gap in the Hautes Alpes

Southern Region or PACA Region?

Since 2018, the official name of our beautiful region has been "Région Sud Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur", often abbreviated to "Région Sud". However, the term PACA is still widely used by locals and visitors alike. From a personal point of view, we feel that "Région Sud" could refer to other French regions such as Occitanie/Pyrénées, and the term "région Sud Provence Alpes Côte d'Azur" could be abbreviated to "SPACA"... we might as well keep using the term PACA, which everyone understands and uses on a daily basis. We often talk about France 3 PACA, tourism in PACA, the prefect of the PACA region, etc...

Provence: the little paradise of the South of France

All the departments of Provence are little wonders to be discovered, each with its own special features. Discover the sublime villages of the Luberon, the peaks of the Hautes Alpes, the idyllic coves of the Côte d'Azur and the traditions of the Camargue. Provence has so much to share with its visitors and inhabitants. The region is very pleasant to discover in summer, but also in spring and autumn. Annual rainfall is very low, giving Provence its reputation as a very sunny region.

Gordes dans le Luberon.

Where to go in the PACA region?

On our website, you'll find all the information you need about the best places to visit in Provence. Here are a few must-sees to give you some ideas:

Where is the Conseil Régional of Sud Region located?

The PACA Regional Council is based in Marseille in the superb Hôtel de Région in the Belsunce district. It is here that the PACA region's elected representatives deliberate and vote on the budgets they are responsible for developing our beautiful region.

Find an accomodation

Hotels in Provence
Campsites in Provence
Holiday rentals in Provence
Bed & Breakfast in Provence

Provence departments

Alpes de Haute Provence
Alpes Maritimes / French Riviera
Bouches du Rhône
Drôme Provençale
Hautes Alpes

Exceptional tourist areas